• Heineken Cup
  • Amlin Challenge Cup
  • Avia Premiership
  • RaboDirect Pro12
  • RL World Cup
  • Super League
  • Co-op. Championship
  • NRL
  • 2015 World Cup Draw takes place

    Matthew Booker, December 3 2012,
    Horror for the hosts as Australia and Wales join England in Pool A
    The draw has yeilded some tough results
    The draw has yeilded some tough results
    Related Articles: Australia, England, Wales
    The 2015 World Cup draw took place in London overnight with a shocking result for the hosts.

    England have drawn Australia and Wales in their group, instantly creating a 'Pool of Death' and almost certainly the toughest Pool in Rugby World Cup history.

    "It's a tough pool," English coach Stuart Lancaster said.

    "I guess it is fate that Wales and England would be put together.

    "To get through the pool, you will need to be consistent. Wales, I've got a huge amount of respect for what they've done recently.

    "To win the Rugby World Cup you have to win big games. We will look forward to it, it is unbelievably exciting."

    The World Champion All Blacks seem to have avoided any kind of pool danger by drawing Argentina and Tonga whilst Pool D is a 6 Nations off-cut with France, Italy and Ireland doing battle.

    The remaining pool spots will be decided in 2014.

    RWC 2015 Pools:

    Pool A: Australia, England, Wales, Oceana 1, Play-off winner

    Pool B: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1, Americas 2

    Pool C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Europe 1, Africa 1

    Pool D: France, Ireland, Italy, Americas 1, Europe 2

    QF1: Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
    QF2: Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
    QF3: Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B
    QF4: Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C

    SF1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF2
    SF2: Winner QF3 v Winner QF4

    Bronze Final: Loser SF1 v Loser SF2

    Final: Winner SF1 v Winner SF2

    Related Articles